Home > Uncategorized > Linkathon 9/24

Linkathon 9/24

Note: Any threads I post at the other blogs I contribute to I’ll post here. Today it’s the Linkathon from Phoenix Preacher, but with a few extra links you won’t see there.

Lots of links for me to choose from. Here are some of the best ones from this past week:

The Desiring God National Conference starts on Friday.

Nathan Busenitz of Pulpit Magazine criticized speaker Mark Driscoll in advance of the conference. Doug Wilson, used as an example of how not to speak, responded to Busenitz on his own blog. Busenitz replied to Wilson, and had more to say about language in a second blog post.

Driscoll seems to have had more of a positive effect on the newfrontiers “charismatic Calvinist” movement of churches, as founder Terry Virgo explains.

Barton at FTA on Biblical authority and how it should manifest in our lives to nonbelievers.

Bryon Mondok is at the Calvary Chapel Northwest Pastor’s Conference in suburban Seattle this week. So far he’s posted on talks given by Chuck Smith, Tom Stipe, Wayne Taylor and Ricky Ryan.

Mondok also reviewed The Shack.

David Crowder covers what Taking Your Vitamin Z calls everyone’s new favorite song:

Internet church campuses are sprouting up everywhere.

What iMonk has to say about the current economic crisis.

Scot McKnight is studying the word ‘gospel’, part 1 and part 2, with subsequent posts at his blog. McKnight also reviews Rob Bell’s latest book, Jesus Wants to Save Christians.

What Daniel Fusco is doing.

J.D. Greear on compassion for the poor.

Justin Taylor talks about a new online theological journal named Themelios.

Keep pastor and blogger Steve McCoy’s wife in your prayers.

Bill McCartney is returning to head up Promise Keepers (HT: Todd Rhoades).

The much-trumpted ESV Study Bible is soon to be released, and if you want to see if it’s worth your while, Crossway has released as PDF files the introduction, text and notes for Esther and 1 John.

The audio from the Santa Fe Conference on Biblical Discernment is here. (HT: James White)

Don Miller posted on a way, through Chris Seay’s church in Houston, you can help people in the Houston and Galveston areas.

Matt Chandler on pastors and pursuit.

Ligonier is posting the complete text of R.C. Sproul’s book Does Prayer Change Things? starting here and here.

Frank Viola and Ben Witherington recently debated about the institutional church versus the organic church.

R.I.P. Emerging Church?? – Alan Hirsch’s take on the possible demise of the emerging church.

Thinking Biblically about the banking crisis – Justin Taylor interviews David Kotter.

C. Michael Patton on homosexuality.

Dan Edelen on soul man, spirit man, part 1 and part 2.

Lifeway Stores pulled from its shelves the latest issue of Gospel Today which has…five women pastors on its cover. (I might have to drive by a certain Lifeway store near me to see if those Joyce Meyer books I thought were there actually are). iMonk weighs in.

Patton on doctrinal disagreements.

Allie.

Tom Ascol on engaging in controversy.

iMonk on evangelicalism and on evangelism.

Ed Stetzer and Bob Hyatt review and critique the “roadshow” tour featuring Doug Pagitt, Tony Jones and Mark Scandrette.

Ligonier’s top five commentaries on Job.

Check out neue magazine.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. mdsf
    September 24, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Brian —

    Can you explain why Mark Driscoll matters? Why do Reformed types have superstar preachers, period? Why doesn’t somebody tell Mark Driscoll to stick to ministering at Mars Hill?

  2. briwd2006
    September 24, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Cause he’s AWESOME!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Seriously…

    I don’t know. Maybe people just love their heroes and want to put them on a pedestal. I’ve seen the phenomenon (superstar preachers) in the Calvary Chapel and charismatic movements.

    Driscoll is smart, engaging, funny, articulate and able to explain the Gospel and Biblical truth in a way that connects with people. Driscoll can come across as cutting-edge in his delivery while not compromising on the essentials of Christian truth.

    I appreciate being able to hear his teaching, as well as other preachers like Ortberg, McManus, MacIntosh, Chandler, etc. through iTunes and online. If God gives you the okay to preach outside your church and opens the doors, you should take it, and no one in general should feel badly about being edified by such teaching.

    (However, I would say that there is wisdom in giving special place to your own pastor and what he preaches/teaches from the pulpit. It’s your church, and IMO what he says has more application to your life and your church’s life than some dude off iTunes).

    Great to see you again! Hope you enjoyed the David Crowder video ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. mdsf
    September 24, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Hope you enjoyed the David Crowder video

    I will soon; YouTube’s been doing that two-seconds-and-no-more thing, and I’ve been offline most of the day. Soon oh soon.

  4. September 25, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Brian
    I have to tell you I appreciate all the hard work you do. Im sure it is not easy to come up with all these links. The hours you must put in. Well just wanted to let you know it is appreciated so much.

  5. briwd2006
    September 25, 2008 at 11:21 pm

    Mary, that is very kind of you. Thank you!

  6. September 25, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    How are you Brian….have you been walking? I wish I could say I have been. but that would be a lie… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  7. briwd2006
    September 25, 2008 at 11:53 pm

    Yeah, I have. I did tonight and did last night as well.

    It’s one of those things you have to decide you’re going to do.

    And if you skipped a day, or a month…that’s in the past. All you can change is what you do going forward. You don’t have to do it all at once; you can break it up into portions – 10 minutes here, 10 minutes there, 10 minutes there. That’s better than nothing.

    You also want to start slowly and build up slowly. You don’t want to push yourself to walk so fast that you end up hating it. The goal is to do some kind of exercise you enjoy.

  8. September 25, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    I think I will go back to swimming it is easier on my back…

  9. briwd2006
    September 26, 2008 at 12:05 am

    Swimming’s fine, Mary. Whatever you’ll do, that you enjoy and works for you, do it.

    When I started walking for exercise, my back almost locked up on me six times while I walked around the block. I knew walking would be key for me in getting in shape, so I kept at it. Eventually, I got on a treadmill, and that helped me with my back problems.

  10. September 26, 2008 at 12:17 am

    we havea gym, 2 pools and 4 jacuzzis i really have no excuse. So tomorrow I will swim and maybe do the tread mill at the gym here .

  11. briwd2006
    September 26, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Mary, if I were in your shoes, I would definitely take advantage of those opportunities.

    I’d talk to my doctor, too, so you’re doing something that benefits your health but doesn’t overexert you nor injure you.

    It’s been a long day, and I’m calling it now. I’ll see you around! Best wishes to you in regards to your swimming!

  12. September 26, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    Hi Brian

    Well I made it I went swimming today. I took it easy as not to trigger a asthma attack, but it felt good. I would swim a few minutes stop swim a few minutes. and so on. anyway it felt good.

  13. briwd2006
    September 27, 2008 at 1:12 am

    Mary, good for you! You go as fast as you can, then stop or slow down when you get tired, then start back up again. You keep repeating, and as you continue on a regular basis, you’ll gain endurance and strength. You’ll be able to go longer and longer. Slowly, in small steps, is how you do things like this.

  14. September 27, 2008 at 1:22 am

    yeah I think I will go again tomorrow. early before all the kids get in there and there will no room to really swim.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

