Home > Uncategorized > Sunday linkathon 9/28

Sunday linkathon 9/28

Tim Challies posted this Puritan prayer of penitence. It comes from a book called The Valley of Vision and nails it in so far as how I feel sometimes. Fortunately, I believe God is willing to answer this kind of prayer when we mean it 🙂

All of the notes, and audio, from Friday’s and yesterday’s sessions at the Desiring God National Conference are available here. I will say that I have only been able to hear Mark Driscoll, and his talk was very, very good. I look forward especially to hearing Paul Tripp‘s talk later on.

How was your church service today? What did your pastor preach on?

I normally steer clear of politics, but a post by Bryon Mondok about a letter from an Iraqi man he befriended is worth your while to read.

iMonk intros a series of his on rebaptism.

Josh Harris talks about praying for Iran.

I’ve fixed my email link under “Contact Me” on the right-hand side of this page. I apologize for the mistake, but you now see the correct email address for this blog.

Have a great Lord’s Day!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 28, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    Good Morning Brian
    Did not make it to church today. I hope your day is going well.

  2. briwd2006
    September 28, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Mary, give it another go next week. God loves you just as much as if you had gone to ten churches 🙂

  3. briwd2006
    September 28, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    Robert preached at my church on Romans 12:17-21 and overcoming evil with good. One point from sermon: if you have a grudge against someone, forgive them.

    I’ll post the sermon notes very late tonight.

  4. September 28, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Thanks Brian…

  5. September 29, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Hey Brian slow day on the blogs I read….How are you if you are still up. Chip and I are waiting for George Lopez to come on. well in about an hour or so. I did make it to church tonight.

  6. briwd2006
    September 29, 2008 at 3:20 am

    Getting back on topic, my church’s sermon notes from today:

    Romans 12:17-21

    1. Do not be overcome by evil
    – being overwhelmed versus overcome by evil
    – why is it so easy to be overcome by evil? Romans 7 – I do what I hate, I do not do what is right
    2. Remember the gospel, Jesus overcame evil with good.
    – Romans 12:20-21
    3. Belive you are loved and believe in God’s justice
    – Romans 12:19, 1 John 3:1
    – the gospel reveals our true identity
    – we are more deeply sinful, and more deeply loved, than we imagined
    4. Trust and follow Jesus, overcome evil with good
    – Reject revenge; respect what is right; pursue peace; do good regardless.
    – always do what is right when you’re wronged
    – Romans 12:18; 1 John 1:4
    5. Overcome evil with good, worship and be transformed
    – Romans 12:1-2
    – when we cling to Christ in our struggles to overcome evil with good, 4 things will happen
    – we will worship our great God in spirit and truth
    – we will no longer be conformed to this world
    – we will be transformed by the gospel to be more and more like Christ
    – we will be able to test and approve God’s good, pleasing, and perfect will

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

