Home > Uncategorized > ESV Study Bible: I can wait…can’t I?

ESV Study Bible: I can wait…can’t I?

The ESV Study Bible is just over two weeks away from release to the public.

It has its share of endorsers, it’s been heavily hyped online and, judging by the PDF files available at its blog, looks really, really nice. Nice enough, perhaps, to preorder 🙂

So why am I not foaming at the mouth yelling at you to place your order for this thing?

After reading a parody post by iMonk yesterday, I did a quick mental inventory of the study Bibles I do own.

I already own copies of:

Not to mention the fact that I own many different translations of the Bible, including the Message, the New Living Translation, the New International Version, the King James, the New King James, the New American Standard Bible, the Good News Bible, and a German New Testament.

In fact, I own so many copies of the Bible that I ought to be giving them away.

Still I got caught up in this frenzy. Crossway, the ESV Study Bible’s publisher, has done a very good job of promoting its product.

In fact, Crossway almost got me to cough up some cash and place an advance order. Almost.

I haven’t cracked, though…yet….there’s still time.

There’s still tim–wait…I’m kidding myself.

I’m (probably) not going to buy the ESV Study Bible (maybe). I tell myself it’s because I have enough good study Bibles as is and that one more may be too much, or I could use the money on other things, like buying food and paying bills.

Perhaps I should hold out and wait to see if the ultimate study Bible will be released, and by that I mean (drum roll, please):

The Mark Driscoll Study Bible.

The MDSB, rated MH-17, available in ESV, NIV and other MD-approved translations, jam-packed with enough Biblical application and insight, uniquely delivered in Driscoll’s own style, to edify the saints and keep the discerners blogging to their graves 🙂

It may never get released 😉

Regardless…I’m sure there will be more specialty study Bibles for me to check out, though there are already dozens of them in any Christian bookstore.

And I hope the thought that occurred to me as I was writing this sticks with me forever:

How about reading one of the Bibles you have – pick one, any one – or give in to your consumerism and buy the ESV Study Bible, for cryin’ out loud, as long as you’re reading the Bible????

Now there’s a thought.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. mdsf
    September 30, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    You can probably guess what I’m going to say about this, but the pre-publication discussion of the ESV Study Bible has me pretty wound up.

    I can’t help but see this as just another well-done campaign for yet another consumer product, but frankly (living and having lived in the shadow of the Scofield Reference Bible my entire life) a more troubling consumer product than most, because study Bibles tend to suggest that the particular doctrinal biases of the authors of the study helps are correct, as opposed to simply being study helps.

    Not to mention the question of the money: CrossWay is non-profit, and they own the ESV text and do not pay royalties, but I haven’t found anything online about the various supplemental texts.

  2. briwd2006
    September 30, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Take the ESV study Bible for what it’s worth.

    I find it interesting that no one online has challenged Crossway on pushing a consumer product. WIth all these endorsements, from Driscoll to Joni Eareckson Tada to Piper, Crossway either is doing one heck of a job of promotion or this is one heck of a study Bible.

  3. mdsf
    September 30, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    I wouldn’t want to overstate the case, but I haven’t seen a word-of-mouth campaign like this since a certain Mel Gibson movie.

  1. October 2, 2008 at 9:55 am

Leave a Reply

