Home > Uncategorized > Daily linkathon 10/1

Daily linkathon 10/1

You’re reading an early, early edition of Daily Linkathon today.

Tomorrow – tentatively – we’ll start a discussion of Francis Chan’s Crazy Love and post the mega, once-a-week Linkathon that got postponed a day because of an interview Michael did with Tom Stipe today at PP. Saturday, tentatively, I’m going to start the discussion on the Crazy Love book.

Let’s get rolling:

I have posted a thread at, and exclusive to, From the Ashes: Get a move on! where I give an update my fitness regimen.

The following link from Marty Duren’s blog may be another of the best links you’ll read all year, and I’ll sum it up thusly: American Evangelical Christendom is dying, if not already dead; long live the Church.

Want to catch up on Granger Community Church’s Innovate ’08 conference, featuring such speakers as Steven Furtick, Bobby Gruenewald and Tim Stevens? Do so right here. (HT: Kem Meyer)

PyroManiacs is going dark for all of October.

Part 3 of R.C. Sproul’s book Does Prayer Change Things? is online.

Bryon Mondok reviews N.T. Wright’s Matthew for Everyone (Part One) commentary.

Vitamin Z links to some helpful online, FREE πŸ™‚ resources from Covenant Seminary, including classes you can take online for FREE πŸ™‚

From sermoncentral.com, Outreach Magazine’s 100 largest and 100 fastest-growing churches in America. (HT: Ed Stetzer)

Michael Patton says Calvinists often make the worst Calvinists. 😯

Mark Driscoll was featured in Newfrontiers Magazine. (HT: The Mission and Vision).

The Resurgence interviewed Christian hip-hop artist Lecrae. It also posted the latest chapter of Driscoll’s e-book on p*rn, male sexuality and other things not discussed in polite society but probably very helpful to a large group of men.

Jonathan Dodson on why evangelism methods must change.

iMonk wraps up his series on rebaptism.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. briwd2006
    October 1, 2008 at 2:28 am

    Fair warning: Some, perhaps many of you will not be happy with the #73 fastest-growing church on Outreach’s list. Which also happens to be the #20th largest church on Outreach’s list.

  2. October 1, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Dang, I think Marty Duren’s post is great!

    Thanks for the link.

  3. mdsf
    October 1, 2008 at 9:54 am

    Brian —

    Thanks for posting the links to the Outreach lists. I need to look through this list closely: I suspect I haven’t heard of more than twenty of the men on either list.

    I am starting to wonder if I know what a pastor is: how can anyone really be a pastor to two thousand people, let alone seven thousand?

  4. briwd2006
    October 1, 2008 at 10:04 am

    Marty,

    I thought it was a great post.

    If I had to sum it up now, I’d say, perhaps, “American Evangelical Christendom is dying (dead?); long live the Church”.

    When it came time to write the intro in the main thread, I had NOTHING, and that’s all on me. I apologize.

    I’ll cross out the original and put in my “gem” instead πŸ™‚

    Also, for you and everyone else, I’ll put the link to Michael’s interview with Tom Stipe (if you don’t already see it in the PP RSS feed to your right).

  5. briwd2006
    October 2, 2008 at 12:32 am

    mdsf, great question.

    How can one care for thousands? Answer: he can’t, other than in a general sense and doing what he can to set up systems that train many people to provide that care.

  6. mdsf
    October 2, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Brian —

    I’ve been thinking about this off and on all day, and I guess the best question I can think of is this: why do megachurches happen? Are there really economies of scale for large churches? Or does it have more to do with superior marketing/organization/whatever?

    Call me crazy, but I don’t think doctrine is key; the churches on the Outreach list are of every different doctrinal stripe.

  7. briwd2006
    October 3, 2008 at 12:21 am

    mdsf,

    I don’t know, but I suspect it has more to do with marketing and organization and a desire of leadership to be big and to keep growing. I don’t believe it’s doctrine, either.

    I do know these churches aren’t stretched far beyond the capacity of their organization to run them. Systems are developed and put into place to manage the organization. I’m not sure if it was Driscoll or Perry Noble (or someone else) but I read/heard some megachurch preacher talk about having to change systems every so often to keep up with the growth.

    I could chalk it up to an American thing, but there are megachurches in Europe, Africa, South Korea (Cho) and Australia (Hillsongs).

    I’d also credit consumer demand – if there wasn’t demand for what the churches offer and the market couldn’t support it, you wouldn’t have these huge churches.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

