Home > Prayer/praise > Sunday musings

Sunday musings

From David Hayward’s naked pastor website.

Today, in case you missed it, is the Fourth of July. Picnics, burgers, barbeque, fireworks.

And, today, church.

So, tell us how your church service went…and how patriotic it was. Or wasn’t. (Some churches may actually prefer to teach the Bible, and not America. Funny, huh?)

Monday, since I imagine that most of you will be off work and will want to shoot off your fireworks and fire up the grill, will feature a previously posted book review of Mark Driscoll’s Religion Saves. Tuesday is more Michael Spencer, Wednesday the Linkathon, and who knows what the rest of the week will bring?

Categories: Prayer/praise
  1. pstrmike
    July 4, 2010 at 9:36 am

    It won’t be patriotic, I hope people are ok with that.

  2. BrianD
    July 4, 2010 at 10:49 am

    Ours won’t be either. Chad Lewis is teaching on Galatians 5:16-26

  3. Nonnie
    July 4, 2010 at 11:34 am

    We had a presentation about the suffering church in Southeast Asia. I hope the “rich” in America know how blessed they have it compared to our brothers and sisters in Cambodia, Burma, Viet Nam, etc.

    I taught my Sunday School kids (ages 3-8) on Esther and stressed “for such a time as this.” I reminded the children that God, in His love for each one of them, has placed them on this earth for such a time as this. They have a choice to walk with Jesus and live a life to His glory or live for themselves.

  4. BrianD
    July 4, 2010 at 11:38 am

    I mentioned a few days ago we have liturgy. This is an outline of today’s service:

    Call to worship -a song followed by reading of Romans 5:6-9
    Song – your blood says everything
    Prayer of confession – taken from The Valley of Vision
    Song- satisfied in you
    Reading of Jeremiah 33:8
    Another song – the God who saves (written by Caedmons Call)
    Passing of the peace
    Sermon
    Communion while band plays Sandra McCracken’s song Sovereign grace o’er sin abounding
    Another song – Great and mighty by Caedmons Call
    Reading of 1 Peter 2:9
    One last song – we are changed, written by church members and musicians
    Benediction

  5. BrianD
    July 4, 2010 at 11:42 am

    Check my Twitter feed for the sermon highlights

  6. July 4, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    happy independence day

  7. BrianD
    July 4, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Thanks, Dusty…happy 4th of July to you, too!

  8. madison*bella
    July 4, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Brian,
    I love the prayers in The Valley of Vision. They are sermons unto themselves….

  9. BrianD
    July 4, 2010 at 10:20 pm

    M*B, did that outline clarify what I meant when I said that my church had a liturgy?

    I’m one of those guys who hasn’t been drawn towards the classics in terms of Christian literature. The folks at Sojourn are all over it…

  10. madison*bella
    July 4, 2010 at 11:38 pm

    Yes, it did clarify — thanks. 🙂 It sounds like a beautiful service. You would love the Valley of Vision! It’s a prayer book written by the Puritans.

  11. BrianD
    July 5, 2010 at 12:00 am

    You may like it, M*B. It (the liturgy and order of the service) was different from what I had been used to.

    The Puritans definitely are part of Sojourn’s influences.

  12. madison*bella
    July 5, 2010 at 10:08 am

    How did you come across Sojourn? What led you there?

  13. BrianD
    July 5, 2010 at 11:08 am

    As you know I have been at PP for a few years now.

    For a time it was my church. It was the only group of Christians, outside of family, I really trusted.

    I eventually came to the conclusion that the PP community, as much as it had done for me, was limited by its very forum. I also realized that there were things I could not do in online community, conversing with real people through my computer, that I could, and needed, to do with real people in the flesh.

    At the time, I was coming around to Reformed theology (thanks to Michael’s influence) and listening to a number of podcasts online, including Mark Driscoll.

    In regards to offline church, I was looking for something different from what I had previously experienced, so I was curious if there was a Mars Hill or Mars Hill-type church nearby. I found the Acts29 Network, and through its website Sojourn…I spent some time looking at the church website before my first visit on the last Sunday of the year.

    I called the elder who preached that week, and started attending regularly. The music was different from what I was used to, but the players were (and are) marvelous. So was (and is) the preaching. I eventually became a member.

  14. July 5, 2010 at 11:45 am

    How was the music different?

  15. BrianD
    July 5, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    1) stylistically – no simple guitar-based CC-type performances, nor bombastic evangelical megachurch-type performances, nor Pentecostal mashes of guitars, drums, vocalists and synthesizers. If you’re into indie rock, or indie-style music that you are most likely to hear on an NPR station, you’ll love what we do.

    You can get a sample at http://www.sojournmusic.com

    2) lyrically – definitely not Maranatha! nor the same five songs played from Michael W. Smith’s Worship album each week (ok, an exaggeration, but that’s what it seemed they were doing at Big Church)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

