Home > Uncategorized > It’s FRIDAY

It’s FRIDAY

…and I don’t know what I want to blog about 😯

It’s not quite that bad…I’m not lacking for ideas. I just don’t know what I want to say about them right now.

One of the things about running a blog is coming up with topics to write about and then actually following through with writing those posts.

Sometimes, the hard part is coming up with a topic.

Sometimes, the easy part is coming up with a topic…the hard part is figuring out what you want to say and how to make it interesting to your audience.

Let’s pick a topic: blogging.

As with any other topic, the angles you can take with blogging is limited only by yourself, and your ability to come up with those angles and have interesting things to say about them.

A couple of angles continue to interest me.

One is Penelope Trunk’s assertion:

Like, I’m thinking that the future of all writing is short, twitter-like stuff, based on traits we see in Generation Z. This groupΒ only uses phones, and very few use phones for email. For Generation Z, email is for diatribes and texting is for communication. There are few laptops in our future. Laptops will be for dorks, and keyboards will be too small for big typing sessions, so only dorks will write long form.

That was the inspiration for one of the questions in my blogger interview series.

Another is Mark Driscoll’s long-standing disdain for bloggers and critics, dismissing them as “bloginistas” “blogging from their mother’s basement”.

It has and continues to bug me (mind you, I’m not losing sleep over this), but what’s interesting to me is 1) how his church is using blogging as a platform and 2) how Driscoll’s attitude influences members not only of his church, but of other churches in the Acts29 Network.

In my own church, I notice heavy Facebook and Twitter usage. I also notice a ton of dormant blogs, with the relatively few members still actively blogging primarily being seminary students writing about theology.

Apparently, pastors and seminary students – and those of you reading this and other blogs – are not members of Penelope Trunk’s Generation Z πŸ™‚

So, it’s not a matter of lacking ideas, it’s trying to overcome mild writer’s block and figure out what to say and how to say it.

Of course, I could take the easy way out and blog about this

πŸ™‚

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. July 30, 2010 at 9:49 am

    Yep. EdJR is always a good fallback position when you’ve got nothing to write about. πŸ™‚

    Am enjoying your “renewed” blog, Brian. Keep up the good work.

  2. Em
    July 30, 2010 at 10:01 am

    BK,”Am enjoying your β€œrenewed” blog, Brian. Keep up the good work.” agreed

    but my generation gap is showing – the youtube guy was ‘tedjus’, ‘course for me all rap is πŸ˜†

  3. BrianD
    July 30, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Bill, thanks! You too, Em…but what does ‘tedjus’ mean?

  4. Em
    July 30, 2010 at 11:31 am

    BrianD, 😳 tedjus = tedious πŸ˜€

  5. Em
    July 30, 2010 at 11:37 am

    hmmm? just tried to link from here to the Phoenix Preacher, then tried to get there from my ‘favorites’ list … hope it’s something on my end this morning…

  6. Em
    July 30, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    tried again and voila! must have been my computer …

    BTW … this new super duper iMac just ate a bunch of stuff (created in their “Pages”) and i’ve had a fun time re-creating some tedjus πŸ˜‰ stuff

    my old faithful 11 year old iMac never did anything like that … 😦

  7. BrianD
    July 30, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    You sure you lost the files? If you saved them before you lost them and know what the files were called, you can find them thru the Spotlight search engine, in the upper right hand corner of the screen. Click on the little magnifying glass.

  8. Em
    July 30, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    BrianD, WOW there they are – and Sob – but thank you non-the-less
    about 10 years ago i had prayerfully done a process type flowchart of the book Revelation – just as the book sequences without any attempt to interpret it. I put it on the old Mac (couldn’t transfer the files from the old computer…so reconstructed the charts – once – then did them again) – not sure whether God wanted me to get smarter about the book or was trying to tell me to just forget it πŸ™‚ Pages is not the right software for the project, but…

    i will remember the fix and will be blessing you in the future for clueing me in, i’m certain…

  9. BrianD
    July 30, 2010 at 4:04 pm

    You are welcome Em…you do have the option to save documents in Pages as .doc files (MS Word) instead of .pages and that is what I would recommend.

  10. Em
    July 30, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    BrianD, thank you so much for the tips and will do just what you suggest from now on… in fact…
    i think you just gave me the solution to my duplicate file problem thank you
    BTW – is the extension what the computer means when it tells me that it can’t locate the ‘alias’?

    i jump in and then learn to swim πŸ˜† could have saved a lot of grief awhile back if i’d understood pdf …

    apologizing for using space here this way – but thank you again, so very much

  11. BrianD
    July 30, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    I don’t know about an alias…that’s one thing I’ve never run into before. You might want to ask that question on PP.

  12. Em
    July 30, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    FYI for FWIW – the original work was done in “Appleworks Draw” – to reproduce it in “Pages” i had to rely on their “shapes” capability and a whole document of “shapes” won’t import into .doc – but i have printed master copies now… so i’m ok – the charts come in handy (when i’m trying to follow someone’s teachings) great sheets upon which to take notes… i’m sorry – this probably is information that is only useful to me… but just in case… πŸ™‚

  13. Na'amah
    August 1, 2010 at 12:20 am

    i love the new technology. i mean, how did we ‘live’ w/out text msging and cell phones?! and i still think it is ‘magic’. It has definitely improved my life in many, many ways… especially since i can talk w my son serving overseas via Skype. πŸ™‚ not as good as huuuuging the boy but it is good!

  14. BrianD
    August 1, 2010 at 10:08 pm

    I often wonder that myself, Na’amah. Remember keeping a quarter somewhere in case you had to make a call at a phone booth on the side of the road?

  15. Na'amah
    August 2, 2010 at 12:22 am

    if you can even locate a functioning telephone inside of a booth these days…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

