Home > Uncategorized > Writers block

Writers block

I have writers block. That’s why there’s not an article here today. That, and I didn’t read thru chapter 6 of Mere Churchianity enough to discuss it 😉

I plan to resume Mere Churchianity next week, discussing two chapters. I also plan to resume the blogger interviews series…perhaps renaming it social media interviews, since we’re also touching on Twitter and Facebook, and anything web-oriented.

Meanwhile, if you had a blog…what would you write about?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. August 13, 2010 at 12:47 pm

    Meanwhile, if you had a blog…what would you write about?

    Probably something about the delicate relationship between tithing and financial accountability.

    My wife and I are considering joining a church, but I’m troubled by the fact that the church leaders aren’t accountable to the rank and file. If there’s a problem we can do one of three things: we can go to the leadership and expect them to police themselves; we can go over their head to the presbytery; or we can go to church elsewhere.

    I am a little troubled in this context by the fact that the church apparently doesn’t file a Form 990 and doesn’t make a financial statement available online, so I can’t find out anything about how the church is spending money without identifying myself. And I don’t know how to ask directly without putting the church leadership on the defensive.

  2. BrianD
    August 14, 2010 at 10:20 am

    Well you have a blog, Mike 🙂

    Is this something you could live with if God called you and your family to go there? Is your concern something that indicates God may not want you there?

  3. August 16, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    Is this something you could live with if God called you and your family to go there? Is your concern something that indicates God may not want you there?

    These are good questions, and I don’t think either of them have simple answers.

    We’ve been through several churches where we’ve seen the same problems repeatedly: the church is doctrinally conservative and the teaching is more or less sound, but the leadership isn’t accountable regarding money, sex or power, and eventually there’s a preventable crisis regarding one or more of them; we’d like to avoid doing that again.

    I’m torn between thinking I’ll know I’m called somewhere when I don’t see these problems looming on the horizon (on the one hand) and suspecting that part of the call would involve agitating for these problems to be fixed (on the other).

    I really don’t understand why conservative churches are so committed to having unaccountable leaders.

  4. TonyP.
    August 16, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    I write about what strikes me. I wonder if it means anything to anyone, since my wife and I are apparently the premier commentors 🙂 . (And Em of course)

    But my wife gets something out of what I write, so maybe that is the pinnacle of it, her edification. 😀

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

