Home > Linkathon > Linkathon 8/18, part 1

Linkathon 8/18, part 1

Part 2 later on Wednesday….

R. Scott Clark on why evangelicals cannot be trusted with the Bible.

John Piper on what one has to believe in order to be saved.

Mike DeLong with a first, second and third post detailing his thoughts and critique after reading the Left Behind series.

Carlos Griego on why Mark Driscoll is a good fit for Seattle (HT: Zach Nielsen).

Albert Mohler: Thank God for the new atheists?

Carole Turner on why a boycott of Craigslist is a good idea.

Erik Raymond: Does ‘going dark’ (praying silently) thwart the devil?

Paul Tripp on grace: right here, right now.

Michael Patton on fears of being unfit for ministry.

Jared Wilson on what legalism isn’t and is.

Mark Lauterbach with a first and a second post on suffering, karma and the Gospel.

Categories: Linkathon
  1. erunner
    August 18, 2010 at 12:33 am

    I only read the 12 book series and enjoyed them greatly. I do agree the 12 could have been shortened by a few books quite easily as I recall some of the books not covering a whole lot.

    Just as “The Shack” these books are fiction and if you approach them as such you can enjoy a Grisham type quick read and be entertained.

    I do feel a bit hurt that the books are described as lower high school level reading material! 🙂

    “As a result, his characters are just modern Evangelicals. This is the most disturbing aspect to the series as a whole, because these characters are soulless people: they lie, cheat, and steal and have no sympathy for the welfare of people around them. They follow their religious leaders unquestioningly and have license to do anything and everything while resisting an evil secular government. I’m not saying Left Behind describes a modern religious resistance movement; I’m just saying it makes joining one seem more reasonable.”

    I’m an Evangelical and am surprised that other believers take such thinly veiled shots at us. I guess I’ll cancel my trip to the next Hannity event and cancel my Tea Party membership. I will stop watching Fox news and turn in my guns. My Sarah Palin poster of her in a bikini will be moved from the living room to the garage. I will empty my bunker and sell the contents and then donate them to a born again republican. I will not spit on the homeless anymore. I will burn my “God Hates Fags” placards. I will no longer kiss my pastor’s a** so he will say hello to me. I will inkwire abut impruving my reading level to 11th grade. I will mow my yard next month. I will think twice before believing everything Jeff Foxworthy says is true. I will dump my mistress and not howl about fornication any more.

    Time to eat. Gonna go find some roadkill! :mrgreen:

  2. BrianD
    August 18, 2010 at 10:29 am

    Wow, ER.

    I liked the Left Behind series too. I knew that it wasn’t great literature. But still an enjoyable read (until the latter part of book 12).

  3. erunner
    August 18, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Brian, It’s been so long since I read them but I recall a few of the later books not covering much ground. At that point I was still hooked but it seemed they easily could have shortened it by a few books.

    The portion I quoted from the articles was totally unnecessary and mean spirited. So I responded using the caricatures that are widely circulated about Evangelicals. If you believe I crossed a line you can remove my post.

  4. August 18, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Hey ER.

    I’m an evangelical too, and I don’t recognize the caricature of evangelicals I see and hear when I listen to Michael Horton and Todd Wilken.

    I was really surprised, however, to see that very same stereotype on display in the Left Behind series. I don’t know if that’s how LaHaye/Jenkins see their audience or if that’s what they think they should be. Or if maybe Jenkins just isn’t capable of creating better characters.

  5. erunner
    August 18, 2010 at 7:29 pm

    Mike, You stated that the characters in the books were just modern Evangelicals. You then describe them in very negative ways which indicates to me your views on modern Evangelicals.

    I am used to the media going to town to depict Christians in the most unflattering ways. I expect that. I will never be comfortable with Christians doing the same things. That is what I took from your comments and led to my response.

  6. August 19, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Re: Clark on Why Evangelicals are Stoopid
    This article is great training for the Gnat-Straining Olympics. Clark really seems to think that Arrend’s flawed categories and soteriological shorthand will cause God’s word to fail. Wake up. There is a real world out there with real people living and dying. The kingdom of God does not consist in words. Sheeeesh. I suggest both Arrends and Clark just go back and read about Jesus and the way he taught.

  7. August 19, 2010 at 1:27 am

    Yeah, that was a little harsh.

  8. August 19, 2010 at 11:35 am

    ER —

    Thanks for your continued patience. I think I see where I’m not getting across.

    I believe Jenkins constructs these characters as modern Evangelicals, but set forward in the future a few years. On the small number of occasions they attend church they’re focused on the teaching; there’s no mention of Communion, creeds, confessions, etc. This might be because the books are meant to be bought by an Evangelical public, or because LaHaye and Jenkins are evangelical, or because they never considered how a Tribulation era church would differ from the contemporary Evangelical church.

    But they also have the characteristics I mention above.

    Please note that I don’t mean they have these characteristics because they’re Evangelicals; I mean they have these characteristics *and* they’re Evangelical.

    I can’t comment on how the media portrays Evangelicals and whether it’s fair or not. I was just kind of shocked how shallow and awful the characters in this series were, and wondered if the effect was intentional.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

