Home > Faith, General, Life > Rejection

Rejection

The Bible says Jesus will never leave us nor forsake us.

He’s the only one, then.

Throughout my entire life I’ve felt the sting of rejection…from when I was a kid to the night I’m writing this short blog post.

How do you fight…how do you carry on…when, one more time, you are rejected for whatever reason and all of the memories of the past, when you’ve been mocked, laughed at, insulted, marginalized…rejected…come pouring in?

Faith in Jesus is one way, I suppose, and perseverance is another.

But darn, is it hard sometimes.

Categories: Faith, General, Life Tags: , ,
  1. November 11, 2010 at 8:31 am

    Yes, it is hard. This is why the Gospels are such a comfort to me. Jesus is rejected by His family, followers, nation, disciples, religious leaders and, in a brief but agonizing moment He feared in Gethsemane and wanted nothing to do with this cup — the rejection of the Father. The Holy One, for the first time in eternity, separated from God. It is not something we can comprehend.

    Still, that is our Savior. That is the one who has engraved us on His hand. You’ll make it. You are not alone.

    Jim

  2. November 11, 2010 at 10:07 am

    BrianD, I totally empathize. Sorry you’re going through this right now. You are spot on in proclaiming the Truth about Jesus.

    I’ve faced so much rejection myself, from the most sacred of relationships. Dad and mom divorced when I was young…Dad gone. Rejected by my mom in favor of abusive step-dad/pastor. Rejected by pastor and church over confronting the abusiveness and wrongdoing.

    Painful.

    However, at my lowest points, God intervenes as I turn to Him. And, I am blessed to have a wife and kids who I can cherish and cultivate healthy and loving relationships with.

    You have friends who are still with you, no matter what you are going through, no matter how dark it is right now. Tap into those friendships. Lighten some of your load. I know we’re not close, due to time, but there appear to be many others you’ve known for quite awhile who clearly love you. Tap into those sources and get some help and reassurance.

    You are in my prayers this morning.

  3. Anonymous
    November 11, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Praying for you, brother. I don’t know your pain personally, but I know the feeling of rejection. It doesn’t help that the “wisdom” of this world prizes the wrong things. Thankfully God has a place for the losers, or we would all be in trouble.

  4. Andy
    November 11, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Sorry, that last one was Andy from group. I’m even a loser at blog commenting!

  5. BrianD
    November 11, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Thanks, folks!

  6. BrianD
    November 11, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Andy, hey!

  7. revmichellejonesholmden
    November 11, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    I am a women who has experienced rejection from birth my father my mother, my adopted parents and their children, then I married only to be rejected again…The beginning of my healing started when I asked God to make me into the women he had intended me to be, while I was yet in the womb. He began to teach me the principle of renewing my mind through his word. He began a work of healing me in mind body and spirit. He is still healing me emotionally. The one thing that I had to do is forgive……..

  8. BrianD
    November 11, 2010 at 11:45 pm

    Blessings to you, Rev. Michelle, and Jim!

  9. November 12, 2010 at 10:09 pm

    BrianD:

    When you feel like you can’t walk no more….
    Walk on

    I, too feel the sting of rejection quite often. I have to dig deeper in the Scriptures and just read and do a “Selah” (kinda like what David did with the Psalms) at those verses that tell me who I am in Christ to drill it into my being.

    That is who you are in Christ and not what a parent, a sibling, a boss, nor a total stranger thinks.

    You are in my prayers

  10. BrianD
    November 13, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    Thanks, Onward!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

