Home > Church life > Christian radio

Christian radio

Last week I learned of something that brought me a little personal distress.

I went to sleep not too long after getting caught up, and I tried to deal with my frustrations by listening to Internet audio.

Usually when I go to sleep and I’m streaming audio, I’ll stream one of seven things:

  • BBC World Service/BBC 4
  • Classical music
  • Comedy (preferably G/PG-rated, like Foxworthy or Cosby)
  • Acoustic guitar music
  • Smooth jazz
  • ESPN/Fox Sports Radio
  • on occasion, soft Christian music or classic CCM

That night, I thought that hearing the gospel might be most helpful, hence my looking for streams from various Christian radio stations.

The first station, from Alaska, was playing that day’s episode of Insight for Living, the radio/audio ministry of pastor Chuck Swindoll. Swindoll’s voice was soothing to my troubled mind, and as I remember he was preaching something about Jesus or the gospel (sorry, I don’t remember the details). All I know is I fell asleep with Swindoll playing in the background…and woke up later to hear Russian music.

Nothing against the Russians, but I went looking for another station 😉

I heard Christian music loud and energetic enough to get you moving during the day and waaaaayyyy too energetic to fall asleep to.

I heard David Jeremiah giving a history lesson on either money or the economy…or was he talking about giving?…as part of his radio program’s series based on his book about the alleged coming global economic collapse.

Yeah. I thought that was soothing and comforting too 😯

I kept trying to find an acceptable station, and kept coming up empty each time. More loud Christian music. John MacArthur screaming about something (okay, he wasn’t screaming, but this was the middle of the night and I was trying to get some rest).

No Swindolls to fall asleep to, no one preaching the good news of Jesus, just more of what seemingly passes for programming on Christian radio today: talks on the economy, talks on politics, talks on the end times, preachers finding their inner evangelist, family-friendly imitations of mainstream pop/rock radio stations.

Very few preachers talking about the good news of Jesus that comforts people like me who are damned by default and saved only by the grace of God.

That is why I have embraced the podcast, and paid music services like Slacker and Rhapsody (and their limited offerings of Christian music that appeals to me).

I used to listen to a lot of Christian music, and grew tired of the political rants and the pledge drives and favorite programs being replaced by those I didn’t like.

I’m sure these radio stations are still providing a great service for a large number of people, but I haven’t been able to find much gospel on them for quite awhile.

Certainly not enough gospel to help remind a man with a troubled mind of the good news of Jesus and the peace He brings that passes all understanding.

Categories: Church life
  1. November 13, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I do not know if you have a Moody Radio affiliate in your area

    http://www.moodyradio.org/brd_FindaProgramSummary.aspx?id=7084

    But when I get restless to the point of insomnia and All Night with Jason Smith on ESPN Radio just will not cut it and make me relax, I like to listen to Moody Radio’s Music Through The Night” with host Mike Kellogg

    http://www.moodyradio.org/musicthruthenight/

  2. BrianD
    November 13, 2010 at 2:18 pm

    I tried. Music wasn’t my style.

  3. November 22, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    Good luck with that. I’ve had fits finding something I’d listen to for any reason other than curiosity, and the Albuquerque/Santa Fe market has a lot to choose from.

    What do you think you’d like to hear? I’ve had a hard time answering that question.

  4. BrianD
    November 22, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    I think what I’d like to hear is most readily available via podcast. It would be sermons, Christian radio programs like Key Life, and podcasts from sources like Dick Staub (Kindling Muse) that can be put out via podcasting without the concerns that dictate what is carried on Christian radio.

  1. November 12, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

