Home > General > Blogging is not easy

Blogging is not easy

If you check in on this blog regularly or occasionally, you’ve noticed that recently all I’ve posted are Linkathons.

I’ve neglected my writing, certainly, and that’s mainly because I’ve gone through a season where I had nothing to say.

I’d like to pick it back up. However, I don’t want to write anything just for the heck of it, just so I can see my name and my “stuff” on the web.

Blogging is not easy in the sense that while anyone can start one, and anyone can write an article, not everyone can write articles that people will want to read and consider helpful, useful, encouraging, challenging and/or thoughtful.

I wish to be the latter, not the former.

Anyone can get a megaphone and yell out random nonsense for all the world to hear.

Not everyone can speak and be listened to.

Again, I wish to be the latter. And in order for that to be the case, I have to have something worth saying.

And if you don’t have anything substantial to say, it’s probably best to remain silent, and not spout off randomness, until you do have something substantial to say.

Categories: General
  1. February 11, 2011 at 4:21 pm

    Your post resonates. Blogging is not easy for me––at least if I want to deliver something durable and a worthy contribution. Having nothing to say is a bit of a problem for someone who wants to have something to say.

    I’m new to blogging and the techy and networking aspects of it are a big blah to me. (Again, not good for a blogger). I have gone into quiet mode for about 2 months because I found that I need to go deep i.e., hunker down with God and the Bible and not be toss around by every wind (wave) of the world and Christianity.
    I suppose when you’re at sea in a hurricane, the best boat to be in is a submarine. The turbulence is on the surface. Also like when whales sound––they go deep.
    Hope to come up with some good whaling posts soon.

    Mike

  2. BrianD
    February 13, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    Thanks for the feedback, hisbiz. Good insights, too, on “hunkering down” with God and the Bible.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

