Home > Linkathon > (Rob Bell) Linkathon 3/2, part 2

(Rob Bell) Linkathon 3/2, part 2

Here’s what the Christian blogosphere was “discussing” this past week:

And here’s a list of everyone I could find who had something to say about the whole deal, beginning with the blogger who’s post kickstarted the discussion:

Justin Taylor

Joshua Harris

Trevin Wax

Roger Olson I

Roger Olson II

Roger Olson III

Tony Jones I

Tony Jones II

Tim Challies

Jason Boyett

Rachel Held Evans

Url Scaramanga (Christianity Today’s Out of Ur blog)

Carole Turner

Joe Thorn

Matt Redmond I

Matt Redmond II

David Sessions

Kevin DeYoung I

Kevin DeYoung II

Julie Clawson

Chad Estes

Albert Mohler

Eugene Cho

Eric Marrapodi (CNN Belief blog)

David Fitch

Chris LaTondresse (Sojourners)

Jonathan D. Fitzgerald (Patheos)

Adam Omelianchuk (Evangel blog at First Things)

Matt Appling

Erik Raymond

Robert Sagers (Evangel blog)

Brian McLaren

Tim Brister

Matt Dabbs

Scot McKnight

Mark Galli (Christianity Today)

Jared Wilson I

Jared Wilson II

Adam Ellis (at Matthew Paul Turner’s blog)

Matthew Paul Turner

David Hayward

Ben Witherington

Anne Jackson

Dan Waugh

Denny Burk

Notice how long that list is?

For what it’s worth, I think Tony Jones had some of the best commentary on the subject. He echoed what Michael Newnham said earlier this week:

I think we’ve been played…the internet, Twitter, and blogs blew up over the release of a Rob Bell video pushing his new book.

Utterly oblivious to the reality that Bell and his publisher wanted this reaction, the conservative and Calvinist communities extended a million dollars of free advertising in the form of hostile rants.

Strangely enough no one has read the book, but everyone seems to have an opinion on what they haven’t read…

And also for what this is worth, I am skeptical that anyone who doesn’t follow the theologians and pastors who post on Twitter and the internet is even remotely aware of this controversy…which shows perhaps how out of whack Internet controversies are in proportion to what real people face in the real world…

 

 

  1. March 3, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I had heard of him before; his church was planted with some sort of affiliation with Calvary Church, Grand Rapids, when Ed Dobson was the pastor there. Dobson was one of Jerry Falwell’s lieutenants during the Moral Majority days. Back when Bell started making news as an Emerging Church guy (I guess this was around the time his first book was published) I was somewhat curious because I couldn’t figure how he got to that point coming from what was historically a proudly hidebound Reformed church.

    I am not entirely sure how to measure how important this whole thing is. I think books like Bell’s tend to have a particular sales pattern, where they sell most of the copies they’re going to sell within some small number of months of publication, so I’m not surprised that his publisher would want to create a sort of “hit and run” media environment.

    Given how many of the references I’ve seen actually refer to the YouTube video for the book, I guess I’d start with the reported number of views for the video. At this link:

    YouTube currently reports 20,073 views and links two other videos that appear to be copies, with 10,013 and 6 views respectively.

    I guess I’d say 30,000 views isn’t a lot in YouTube terms, but it’s a fair number of views for a publicity video for a book that hasn’t been released yet.

  2. March 3, 2011 at 11:14 am

    Yikes. I didn’t expect WordPress to turn that link into a viewer. Sorry.

  3. TonyP.
    March 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    Hey, Brian. Have a good weekend, dude. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

